Scientific team

The Ocular Drug Delivery group is led by professor Arto Urtti. The laboratories are located at:

  • the School of Pharmacy, University of Eastern Finland, Kuopio, Finland
  • the Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Helsinki, Helsinki, Finland
  • the Institute of Chemistry, Saint-Petersburg State University, Saint-Petersburg, Russia

At the University of Eastern Finland

Professors

Arto Urtti
No image.
Email
arto.urtti@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2030
Additional Info

Seppo Auriola
No image.
Email
seppo.auriola@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Mediteknia 3025
Additional Info

Paavo Honkakoski
No image.
Email
paavo.honkakoski@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2040
Additional Info

Laboratory technicians

Jaana Leskinen
No image.
Email
jaana.leskinen@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Mediteknia 2042, 2056
Additional Info

Lea Pirskanen
No image.
Email
lea.pirskanen@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2021
Additional Info

University lecturers

Veli-Pekka Ranta
No image.
Email
veli-pekka.ranta@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2048/3
Additional Info

Marika Ruponen
No image.
Email
marika.ruponen@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2034
Additional Info

University researchers

Eva del Amo Páez
No image.
Email
eva.delamo@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2006
Additional Info

Laura Hellinen
No image.
Email
laura.pelkonen@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2012
Additional Info

Mika Reinisalo
No image.
Email
mika.reinisalo@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2020
Additional Info

Astrid Subrizi
No image.
Email
astrid.subrizi@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2039
Additional Info

Elisa Toropainen
No image.
Email
elisa.toropainen@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 5045
Additional Info

Kati-Sisko Vellonen
No image.
Email
kati-sisko.vellonen@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2039
Additional Info

Ph.D. students

Sina Bahrpeyma
No image.
Email
sina.bahrpeyma@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2026
Additional Info

Anusha Balla
No image.
Email
anusha.balla@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2031
Additional Info

Anam Hammid
No image.
Email
anam.hammid@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2016
Additional Info

Emma Heikkinen
No image.
Email
emma.heikkinen@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2020
Additional Info

Marko Lamminsalo
No image.
Email
marko.lamminsalo@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2021
Additional Info

Jooseppi Puranen
No image.
Email
jooseppi.puranen@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2031
Additional Info

Amir Sadeghi Boroujeni
No image.
Email
amir.sadeghi@uef.fi
Room info
Kuopio Canthia 2016
Additional Info

Ph.D. students in industry

Anam Fayaaz (SimCyp, Sheffield, United Kingdom)

Paulina Jakubiak (Roche, Basel, Switzerland)

Vatsala Naageshwaran (Absorption Systems, USA)

Research assistants

Annika Valtari

Key people at the University of Helsinki

Madhushree Bhattacharya, Ph.D.

  • expertise: peptides and biomaterials

Heidi Kidron, Ph.D.

  • expertise: transporters and chemoinformatics

Tatu Lajunen, Ph.D.

  • expertise: light activated liposomes

Key people at Saint Petersburg State University

Professor Tatiana Tennikova

Professor Mikhail Krasavin

Assoc. professor Viktor Korzhikov-Vlakh

Past members of the Ocular Drug Delivery group

Saila Antila

Maxim Antopolsky

Heike Bunjes

Marco Casteleijn

Matti Elomaa

Ulla Finne

Martina Hanzlikova

Jouni Hirvonen

Margit Hornof

Zanna Hyvönen

Marika Häkli

Kaisa Mari Hämäläinen

Pekka Jarho

Kristiina Järvinen

Tomi Järvinen

Ilpo Jääskeläinen

Paraskevi Kallinteri

Harri Kanerva

Merja Kirjavainen

Hanna Kortejärvi

Judith Kuntsche

Kati Lappalainen

Antti Laukkanen

Julia Lehtinen

Niina Makkonen

Melina Malinen

Eliisa Mannermaa

Janne Marvola

Emmanuelle Morin

Marjo Männistö

Lauri Paasonen

Harri Palokangas

Sari Pappinen

Dave Pate

Leena Pitkänen

Mari Raki

Manuela Raviña

Seppo Rönkkö

Paula Saarinen-Savolainen

Sanjay Sarkhel

Shaheeb Shakel

Marjukka Suhonen

Pekka Suhonen

Riitta Sutinen

Unni Tengvall-Unadike

Laura Tuovinen

Jonna Wikström

Marjo Yliperttula

Satu Åkerman