(Updated 9 July 2020 at 9.40)

Travel abroad

The Finnish Government has decided that restrictions imposed due to the COVID-19 epidemic will be lifted gradually on the basis of the epidemiological situation and social and economic considerations. Movement of people and traffic will be facilitated primarily between countries with a similar epidemiological situation. However, the Finnish Government still recommends avoiding unnecessary travel to other countries except for Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. A 14-day self-isolation period is no longer required from persons returning from the above-mentioned countries. As of 13 July 2020, restrictions on travel are also lifted for the following Schengen countries: the Netherlands, Belgium, Italy, Austria, Greece, Malta, Germany, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland. In addition, travel to Finland from the following EU Member States which are not part of the Schengen area is allowed: Cyprus, Ireland, Andorra, San Marino, and the Vatican.

The Finnish Government also partially lifted restrictions on travel for some countries outside of Europe. As of 13 July, travel for work or other essential purposes to Algeria, Australia, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay, and China is permitted.

The University of Eastern Finland follows the national guidelines, i.e. a 14-day self-isolation period is no longer required from persons returning from these countries. In addition, business travel to these countries is now allowed, as are visitors from these countries (no 14-day self-isolation period is required).

The same definition of policy applies to students’ training/internship periods or other studies-related travel abroad (such as field courses or other excursions). Student exchange, however, is cancelled for the entire autumn semester.

Domestic travel
The Finnish Government has lifted restrictions on domestic travel, and domestic travel is allowed while observing the safety guidelines.